• Capsule
  • Posts
  • Capsule #18: Mary Mandefield Guest Edit!

Capsule #18: Mary Mandefield Guest Edit!

Coming of age bangs, S.A.D, and music to keep you going

Hello hello,

I’m handing over the mic this week to Mary Mandefield, London-based presenter and journalist and my lovely colleague at TNM. You’re likely to discover Mary on the radio, covering ‘Life Hacks’ on BBC Radio 1, plus shows on BBC Radio 1Xtra and BBC Radio London.

The girl can talk! Which is great news, as she’s hosting The News Movement’s brand new podcast with Persephonica. It’s called Noted, it just came out, and you can find it wherever you get your podcasts now. Run don’t walk, etc!

Enjoy her edit!

Holly

Mary serving AF x

(Open tabs)

 First things first.…

I’m obsessed with these sisters who basically gave us a mini coming of age movie as you see the sisterhood being played out through a TikTok video. It makes me want to call my sister and also cut my own bangs. These kids are trailblazers I tell ya.

@palmview956oficial

GURWM gone wrong.. Camelia cut her bangs Again 😡🤯 #parati #sisters #hermanas #gurwm #valentina #scissors #camelia #magdalena #bangs #fypシ ... See more

Already thinking about…

Seasonal depression. How do you plan on dealing with it? I feel like the second we’ve packed away our summer sandals, we’re so conscious that dark mornings, days and evenings are ahead. My housemate and I were chatting about it - he’s a proper homebody who embraces the cosiness, whereas I become like a fox during autumn and winter. You will catch me on the streets on my way to any event I can get to - I will go to the opening of an envelope to avoid being in the house. Don’t judge my coping mechanism…

The replies to this tweet are well worth a scroll for ideas.

This might be an unpopular opinion…

I’m on my knees, begging anyone with the aim of making gorgeous content… get off the tube platform! Not just here, but anywhere public and busy. Move out the way! Hate to be a hater (that’s a lie actually) but the narcissism is jumping out when you don’t think about people just trying to make their way to work without being in the background of your TikTok. Take your tripod to a quiet street and do your thing in peace.

It’s the right time for…

Having a clear out. That momentous time of the year has come where you can grab your big coat from that broken vacuum pack bag you shoved under your bed. In the process I love to have a clear out and be ruthless. Channel your inner Marie Kondo or Stacey Solomon and just get rid. I once tried to film myself doing this for a vlog, I got 2 mins in (the stage where you put every item of clothing on the bed to see it all at once), I cried and put the camera down. Bonus points if you have a clothes swap session with your mates after. New bits and a clear out, win win.

This week, Barny Fletcher popped into Capsule to share what’s 🔥hot🔥 and what’s not 🙅‍♀️ …

Barny is a budding pop prodigy hailing from Somerset. Reared on The Kinks, Eminem, and Bob Dylan, his music is a mix of hip-hop, R&B, pop, and disco, with a lyrical take on the absurdity of the everyday. His next project, Lonestar, comes out in October. He’s excited for more live shows, more cool visuals, and making some jewellery for his team.

🔥🔥🔥Hot🔥🔥🔥

1) Two designers: Luca Hamers & Studio Ü. Both these guys are putting out incredible clothing with thoughtful design. Don’t shleep!

2) Fruit winders. Fruit winders will always be hot. If I were stranded on a desert island, and granted only one meal to have, everyday, it would be fruit winders. Sure, I’d probably die fairly quick. But that’s a future-me problem.

Hot Not… 🙅‍♀️🙅‍♀️🙅‍♀️

Global warming ain’t hot. Neither is The Big Bang Theory. That show was never ever hot. I’m sorry.

📺 Watching: My Mum, Your Dad. I don’t normally watch a lot of TV but this is so wholesome, I’m really enjoying it (for the uninitiated, think Love Island but for single parents whose grown-up kids nominate them). Dating shows where people have actually lived a bit of a life and know what they want are refreshing.

📖 Reading: Soft Lad by Nick Grimshaw. Well, I listened to the audiobook because I think that’s the rule when it’s a celeb autobiography. Working in radio means I love hearing the insights of people who’ve been at the top of their game, and Grimmy has always been that go-to guy for musicians and artists for an interview. His anecdotes always have a decent amount of cynicism for trends and showbiz and I love hearing his stories of bopping around London working his way up as a presenter.

🎧 Listening to: Untidy Soul by Samm Henshaw, ‘Big 7’ by Burna Boy (my mate Chelsea said it makes her feel optimistic and rich, which I love for her), Master Peace and Konyikeh. Stromae’s Tiny Desk Concert for a pick me up. He’s so cute, feel like we could be siblings if you really squint…

McKellan has noted that Turkey has become the place to go for a lil tweakment, treatment or full on cosmetic surgery. BBLs for half the price of what they are in the UK, and you can get yourself a full set of veneers and a holiday in one. But with warnings from the ASA (advertising standards authority) and UK surgeons saying you can encounter misleading ads from clinics and botched work, is it time for us to look for safer options. Casting directors are saying it’s hard for actors to portray emotion on screen because of Botox or that straight and bright white teeth just don’t work for a period drama. Will the more natural look become the antidote for the Turkey surgery trend?

If you’d like to adopt McKellan or one of his friends, click here to learn more.

Thanks for reading! I’d love to hear how you’re finding Capsule - let me know here. And if you have a friend who might like it, please forward on 🥺

See you next week 💋